Community Advisory Board


 CML CAB 2016  CML CAB 2017



What is the CML Community Advisory Board

The CML Community Advisory Board (CML-CAB) is a working group of the CML Advocates Network where patient advocates leaders from all world regions, many living with CML, work together to improve outcomes of CML patients covering patient information, research priorities, access to treatment and capacity building in the CML community.



The CML-CAB aims to promote best-in class CML research as well as the harmonisation of good clinical practice, standard of care and access to best available CML therapies and diagnostic tools.



CML-CAB meetings, based on the proven ECAB model implemented by the HIV patient community and EATG for more than a decade, are community-run advisory boards where the patient community decides on the topics of highest relevance and impact for the patient community. Participants of the CML-CAB meetings have the opportunity of a two-way dialogue discussing key topics in CML between key leading advocates of the patient community and external stakeholders, and discussing potential follow-up action.


Composition of the CML-CAB

The CML-CAB is comprised of a chair and a co-chair, a steering committee, and members. The core team is composed of three permanent CAB members, six regional representatives elected into the global CML Steering Committees, plus additional CAB members nominated by the regional representatives.

Current members of the CML-CAB are:

  • Jan Geissler, Germany (Co-chair)
  • Giora Sharf, Israel (Co-chair)
  • Jana Pelouchova, Czech Republic
  • Mercedes Arteaga,  (representing Latin America)
  • Gail Sperling, USA (representing North America)
  • Bahija Gouimi, Morocco (representing Africa and Middle East)
  • Rita Christensen, Denmark (representing Western Europe)
  • Lisa Machado, Canada (representing North America)
  • Jelena Cugurovic, Serbia (representing Eastern Europe)
  • Rod Padua, Philippines (representing East Asia and Pacific)
  • Pat Garcia-Gonzalez (representing Latin America)
  • Felice Bombaci, Italy (Western Europe)
  • Cornelia Borowczak, Germany (Western Europe)
  • Yair Bar David, Israel (Middle East)
  • Parameswaran Puthen, India (East Asia / Pacific)
  • Silvia Castillo De Armas, Guatemala (Latin America)
  • Sarunas Narbutas, Lithuania (Eastern Europe)
  • Zack Pemberton-Whiteley (Western Europe)




EU e-Privacy Directive